YOU SHOULD TRY THIS RECIPE

Normally I try to steer clear of the I’m so domestic, look at this awesome recipe I made for dinner-type posts. Now before anyone gets offended, I’m not dissing your blog content. It’s just that there are plenty (and I mean PLENTY) of food blogs that offer way better tips and recipes than I can. Plus, I usually stick to the boring chicken or fish, a couple veggie side items, and a bread. I like to follow this with a gourmet” dessert of slice and bake cookies with milk. High class, I know. Not to mention the fact that when I DO decide to “cook outside the box,” its usually a recipe I’ve gotten off of someone else’s blog…and why would someone read about my attempt at a recipe I got from a blog with a great layout and professional quality pictures of their food?

I have decided to make an exception this time, though, because this particular recipe I made last night was awesome. Now awesome consists of a few different qualities:

1)It was incredibly easy, and altogether took less than 15 mins to make. On a weeknight after an 8-hour day, 15 minutes sounds fantastic. 

2)It was relatively inexpensive. Let’s be honest, food can be expensive and you’ve still got to eat. Save when you can.

3) Kyle loved it. Mr. “I question everything you do in the kitchen, even though I don’t know how to cook, and I’ll probably like it when I try it” actually liked it without any comment but “This is delicious.” They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. Sometimes. Unless he doesn’t like the sauce…. but fortunately he liked the sauce. Looks like I’m staying for awhile!

4) You probably already have most of these ingredients in your pantry, but you can find the coconut milk in the international section.

So here’s what the blog picture looked like:

And here’s what mine looked like:

Don’t be fooled. My dish was equally delicious…just slightly less aesthetically pleasing. She suggested serving this over steamed rice, but we went with Edamame and a whole wheat baguette. Yum…

Coconut Peanut Sauce Beef
Serves 4 to 6

 One 2-pound London Broil
Kosher Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
Olive Oil
1 can (13.5 oz)  coconut milk
3 tablespoons peanut butter
4 tablespoons. brown sugar, packed,
2 teaspoon curry powder
2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lime juice (about half a lime)
steamed rice, to serve

*optional garnish: toasted coconut and green onions sliced thinly

Pre-heat grill on high.  Rub olive oil over steak and season with kosher salt generously and pepper. Set aside.  When grill is ready, grill each side for 5 minutes.  With london broil you do not want to cook it over 5 minutes on each side because the steak will toughen.  If you prefer a medium or well done steak, I suggest using flank.  Remove steak from grill and allow to rest on a plate covered with foil.

To make coconut peanut sauce, add coconut milk, brown sugar, curry powder, lime juice, and peanut butter to the sauce pan. Cook on medium heat, continuously stirring until all of the ingredients have completely come together.  Turn off heat.

Cut steak into thin slices across the grain and arrange beef on a large platter.  Pour coconut peanut sauce on top of the slices and garnish with optional toasted coconut and green onions. Serve over steamed rice. Enjoy!

For more delicious recipes from this blog, visit Savory Sweet Life!

