Whole30

Image

Kyle and I have officially started the Whole30 plan. It’s Day 1. This morning I drank my coffee black (that was a first), ate an egg and some sliced kiwi, and was ready for an apple with almond butter by the time I got to work. 

Now, I’ve never really been a health nut. I love to indulge in a greasy burger and fries, pancakes with syrup, fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, Dr. Pepper, etc. BUT, I know in my heart of hearts that this food is not natural, it’s not doing my body a whole lot of good, and it will eventually do nothing for my waistline, or my heart, or my liver, or my brain, or my muscles…you get the picture. I KNOW this, but I have never ACTED on it.  So I figure that now is as good a time as ever to take the plunge.

I read several blogs and looked up several things online like Paleo or Clean Eating. They all seem pretty similar in the basics….. lots of meat and veggies, no bread or dairy or sugar (WHAAAA??). Scary, right? No milk? No cheese? No wine? No pasta??? I’ll admit it. I’m scared. But I’m also willing to try it.

Whole30 basically challenges you to eat this way for 30 days. The idea is that in 30 days you’ll notice enough difference in the way you feel, change your habits, cut off (at least somewhat) your psychological addiction to certain foods, and that by the end you’ll actually WANT to keep eating this way. They claim you’ll feel better, have more energy, sleep better at night, recover faster after workouts….I guess we’ll find out for ourselves!

If you’re interested in trying this out for yourself, read the basics HERE!

Image

One thought on “Whole30

  1. I look forward to reading along and seeing how this goes for y’all! My SIL and husband have done Whole30 several times and continue eating a Paleo diet. I’m interested in trying it out sometime!

Leave a Reply

